Kansas Black History

February is Black History Month, but do you really know all about black history. I know I don’t. I have lived in Kansas for 20 years now and I know almost nothing about black history that has happened in Kansas. I have done a little research on this subject and I have found a few intersting people/things. Here they are:

  • First Kansas Colored Infantry
  • Benjamin “Pap” Singleton
  • George Washington Carver
  • Bloody Kansas
  • Langston Hughes
  • Gordon Parks
  • Gwendolyn Brooks
  • Hattie McDaniel
  • Brown vs. Board of Education
  • Buffalo Soldiers

As your reading this, I’m sure some of these don’t sound familiar so why don’t you take some time to learn about black history in Kansas or in your state.

2 thoughts on “Kansas Black History

  1. Howdy. I re-tweeted your blog post on my twitter feed. I only know about bloody Kansas (read about it way back in Jr. High school). However, the rest on your list is all new to me as well. Keep up the awesome work! You’re doing super. 🙂

Leave a Reply

