Media Fast

For my digital media class we were told to give up media/electronics for a 24 hour period. This doesn’t seem to hard but it actually is in the world we live in now. I am always on a computer or on my phone so this assignment seemed impossible. Here’s how my experience went.

I started my 24 hour period at 3 am on Saturday once I got home from work. I spent until 3 pm sleeping to catch up on sleep I missed throughout the week due to school and work. The plan for the rest of the day was to spend it with my sister, brother-in-law, and their kids. We had played board games and played with toys, which was rather nice. My sister and me had then made chicken fried steak and homemade mashed potatoes. After dinner, we played one of our favorite card games, hand and foot. By this point I hadn’t even had an urge to be around media or electronics. Around 11 pm, my sister and I made our usually trip to Casey’s to get half price doughnuts and drinks. We went back to her house after that played some more hand and foot and finally went to sleep around 1 am.

I really could not believe I could go 24 hours without media but spending time with family made it quite possible. I even had felt somewhat relieved after the 24 hours and if it wasn’t for homework and having to right this blog post I would of continued this media fast for the whole weekend.

One thought on “Media Fast

Leave a Reply

